The Ecological Society of Japan

Home Rules

Rules of District assembly, editorial committee, technical committee etc. of the Ecological Society of Japan

Article 1.
These rules apply to district, editorial and technical committees established by the Association.

(District assembly)
Article 2.
The whole Japan shall be divided into seven districts: Hokkaido, Tohoku, Kanto, Chubu, Kinki, Chugoku/Shikoku, and Kyushu.

  1. Members residing in Japan belong to the district assembly corresponding to the address registered as their mailing destination.

Article 3.
For the smooth business operation of this Association, editorial committees and technical committees (hereinafter both referred to as "committee") are established.

  1. The establishment and abolition of the committees shall be decided by the Board of Directors.
  2. The Chairperson and secretary of the committee shall be appointed by the Chairperson after discussion with the Board of Directors, unless otherwise specified in the bylaws of the technical committee.
  3. In principle, the term of the Chairperson, secretaries, and committee members shall be for 2 years. However, this does not preclude re-election.
  4. The Chairperson shall compile and submit minutes to the President within 4 weeks of the committee meeting.
  5. The secretariats must keep the minutes of the preceding paragraph for 10 years.
  6. Members may view the minutes of the preceding paragraph with the approval of the president.
  7. The committee shall operate in accordance with the bylaws of each committee, as approved by the Board of Directors, in addition to the rules here.

(Editorial Committee)
Article 4.
The editorial committee includes the editorial committee for Ecological Research, the editorial committee for the Japanese Journal of Ecology, and the editorial committee for Japanese Journal of Conservation Ecology.

  1. Each editorial committee consists of an editor-in-chief, associate editor(s), and editors that the editor-in-chief convenes as the chairperson.
  2. The editorial committee is responsible for editing journals. The number of members can be determined as needed.

(Technical Committee)
Article 5.
The President may establish technical committees for the smooth business operation of the Association.

  1. Each technical committee consists of a chief, a secretary, and members, and the chief convenes the technical committee as the chairperson. Among the results of the deliberations, the matters to be executed shall be approved or ratified by the General Meeting.

(Academic Journal Publication Committee)
Article 6.
The publication committee is established to discuss the publishing work (publishing policy and format) of journals and accounting matters of each journal.

  1. The publication committee consists of the editor-in-chief, the associate editor-in-chief, the former editor-in-chief, one or two prospective editorial committee members, the general secretary, and the editorial committee members recommended by the editor-in-chief.
  2. The editor-in-chief takes the chair of the publication committee. The members recommended by the chair are approved by the Board of Directors. The term of the chair shall be the same as that of the editor-in-chief.

Article 7. Amendments to these rules must be approved by the Board of Directors.

Supplementary provisions
1) This rule will come into effect on February 23, 2014.