The Ecological Society of Japan

Invitation to apply “Biwako Prize for Ecology”

Jotaro Urabe (Chairperson of the Steering Committee of the Biwako Prize for Ecology)

The “Biwako Prize for Ecology” is awarded to researchers under the age of 50 who have made an outstanding contribution to the field of aquatic ecology and/or related disciplines in areas of east to south. I am delighted to invite such researchers to recommend yourselves for the 21st Biwako Prize for Ecology. The candidates are not limited in member of the ESJ.

The “Biwako Prize for Ecology” was founded in 1991, since which time it has been awarded to 36 national and international researchers. Previous recipients have remained active, with some going on to play leading roles in ecology and other fields related to the aquatic environment. Therefore, the “Biwako Prize for Ecology” represents an academic springboard to encourage outstanding recipients who are expanding scientific horizons in this field and contributing to society.

Winners of the 20th Biwako Prize for Ecology were Dr. Moriaki Yasuhara (University of Hong Kong) and Dr. Ichiro Tayasu (Research Institute for Humanity and Nature). Dr. Yasuhara has studied long-term changes in marine ecosystems and patterns of spatial and temporal variations in marine biodiversity using the fossil records of small organisms left in the marine sediments. Because of the ecological significance of his studies with unique analytical approaches, he was highly evaluated and awarded the 20th Biwako Prize for Ecology. Dr. Tayasu has tackled a number of ecologically significant subjects, including trophic interactions and material flows in terrestrial and aquatic ecosystems using the stable isotope analysis. Moreover, he has continually shown how the SI analysis is useful to untangle ecologically complex phenomena. For his excellent leadership with high-quality input into ecology, he was awarded the 20th Biwako Prize for Ecology. As such, this prize acknowledges outstanding researchers in a range of disciplines related to the aquatic environment. It is expected that award recipients will contribute to ecology in general and aquatic science especially as leading scientists and expanding the scope of sciences related to aquatic environments by presenting their academic achievements in an easily understandable manner to general societies.

This year, for the 21st prize, we recruit applicants for the “Biwako Prize for Ecology.” Nominees must be a resident of East and Southeast Asia, including the eastern part of Russia and the western Pacific region but excluding Australia and New Zealand, and must be persons whose academic activities in these regions are highly appreciated. The selection will be conducted by experts not only in aquatic sciences but also scientists who have been active in the fields of biology and environmental sciences, thereby removing discipline-specific bias.

Recipients will be invited to attend an award ceremony before and after the Day of Lake Biwa (July 1), next July, where they will be expected to give a commemorative lecture. In addition, we request that recipients write a review or report in an academic journal published by the Ecological Society of Japan.

I hope that applicants have confidence in their own achievements and do not hesitate to apply for the “Biwako Prize for Ecology.”